HorrorCraft: Schizo

Returning to form, or better yet, progressing to the next stage, I begin to do research on horror films. And with this, I seek with vivacious hunger. This is the beginning of an ongoing series HorrorCraft where I will post some excellent (in my taste) Horror or Horror-type movies.

What intrigued me about SCHIZO, a UK film released on March 1978, was the pacing and the cinematography. The screenwriter was David McGillivray He still works in the industry. The story is simple and straightforward with minor flashbacks and gore. It only briefly brushes on the psychosis of humanity. The main key here was to create a mood, to shock, and show brief nudity. If I was to remake a film, I would put this on my list.

The cinematography was by Peter Jessop. He also did The Harder They Come. There is something about the color of 70’s British movies that really creates a sense of horror for me.  I would also use this technique

Leave a comment